Black Bean Burgers

Hippie Food.

That’s what LSF tends to call things like “black bean burgers” and tofu and anything labeled “vegan”. So I called these “black bean cakes” so as not to offend the burger gods, and you know what? He liked them.

No, not liked, loved.

I don’t know where I got this recipe and it’s been changed so much over time that I feel like in some way it’s mine. I feel like you’ll like it too. Here’s the quick link to the recipe if you so desire.

The ingredients are pretty simple. Two cans of black beans, one green bell pepper, one onion, 3-4 cloves of garlic, Sriracha, 2 eggs, oregano, garlic powder, paprika, and cayenne pepper.


I swear, it’ll all come together. It will!

Preheat the oven to 375°.

Then, pour the two cans of black beans into a strainer and then rinse them. Easy!

After the beans have strained, put them into a bowl and mash these puppies up! I tend to mash them pretty finely, but there seems to be a big debate on this. Really? I’m not an active contender either way. It’s a stress relief, so if they are super mashed, I’ve had a lot of aggression to get out that day.

Now, one of my favorite things about this recipe is the lack of chopping I have to do. Chop up the green pepper (or half of it, whatever you want)…

Cut the onions into wedges…

And just peel the garlic…

So maybe I used around….4-5 cloves instead of 3-4. I’m not sure I care. I love garlic. And it turned out so yummy! Taste!

I then put all of these veggies into a food processor and pulsed it until it was all combined. But then I tried to take pictures and left the food processor on until it was liquid. That’s not supposed to happen. But I sighed and went on with life.

And then I added this green goop into the beans.

Oops. I would say it mattered, but I don’t think it did. Oh well!

Now, the final-ish steps. Put the eggs in a bowl and add a tablespoon each of: chili powder, garlic powder, and oregano. And then also a heaping teaspoon of cayenne.

I’ll skip all the spice pictures, but you get the idea.

Then, because LSF and I adore all things spicy, I added about 2 teaspoons of Sriracha.

I wish there were words to describe my love for Sriracha. There aren’t enough.

Beat all of this together and add it to the bean/veggie mixture.

Now here’s the tricky part where you’re going to have to use your zen cooking senses. Every time I’ve made this recipe, the amount of breadcrumbs needed has varied.

Start with half a cup.

Now, this batch of burgers ended up very soupy. Probably due to me over-processing the veggies, so I needed probably another quarter cup or so. It happens.

Here’s the consistency I go for when all is said and done. You need it able to stick together and hold up in the oven.

Now line some baking sheets with tin foil, grease it with some olive oil spray (my choice), and make these puppies into burgers, or “cakes”, as LSF would rather have me say.


I tried. And tried. And tried. And in no way could I make these not look like cow patties. I swear, guys, they’re awesome. Just stay with me. 

I baked these for about 10 minutes, then flipped them over….and then baked again for another 10 minutes.

Flip!

When they were done, I put them on some sandwich flats (I just discovered these recently and I am not exaggerating when I say I think they changed my life) and LSF and I devoured. He put some leftover guac we had in the fridge on his…

And I put some hummus on mine (again, what’s with the hippie food, amIright?)…

And all was right with the world.

I hope y’all enjoy! Here’s the full recipe!


Black Bean Burgers
As made by…well, me!

Ingredients

  • 2 (16 ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2-1 green bell pepper, cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 1 onion, cut into wedges
  • 3-5 cloves garlic, peeled (depending on how much garlic you like)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon Sriracha or your favorite hot sauce
  • 1 tablespoon oregano
  • 1/2-3/4 cup bread crumbs
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Drain and rinse the 2 cans of black beans.
  3. Put the black beans into a bowl and mash to desired consistency.
  4. Put the bell pepper, garlic and onion into a food processor (or blender) and mix until chopped.
  5. Pour the veggie mixture into the black bean mixture and mix.
  6. In a separate small bowl, mix the eggs, cayenne, garlic powder, oregano, and Sriracha and pour that beaten mixture in the black bean/veggie mixture.
  7. Starting with 1/2 cup of bread crumbs, add that to the black bean mixture, and, as needed, add more bread crumbs until mixture can stick together on its own and can be formed into patties.
  8. Form the mixture into patties and put on greased baking sheet (I put foil down first because I like things easy)
  9. Bake for 10 minutes on each side (flip in between).
  10. Serve with sandwich flats and put any toppings you want on it!
2 thoughts on “Black Bean Burgers

Leave a Reply

