Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Seriously, y’all.

Seriously.

That’s all I have to say. I just…can’t even describe these. Here’s a sad fact: I don’t tend to have good luck with cookies. For some reason, my cookies just don’t tend to ever taste as good as anyone else’s, and I had grown a complex about it.

It was a cookie inadequacy spiral.

Until now! If you’ve been following along, you know that I have a major crush on the recipe book 100 Recipes Every Woman Should Know. I’ve made Spicy Peanut Sauce Noodles and Lemon (Engagement Chicken) and both are some of my favorite recipes of all time. Well this, friends, is no exception. The official recipe name is “Make Friends and Influence People Cookies” and boy do they ever. I suggest making them immediately! For those who want to jump the gun, here’s the jump to the recipe!

The cast of characters, you ask?

Flour (I used whole wheat, but white would be fine I’m sure, too), unsweetened cocoa, baking soda, salt, butter (let it soften!), brown sugar, white sugar, 2 eggs, vanilla, and chocolate chips (I used dark because I have an obsession with dark chocolate). The recipe calls for optional walnuts, but I just omitted them. I’m sure they’d be delicious though!

Now, here’s a moment when I admire my appliances. I’m ashamed to admit, this another one of those moments. This, friends, is my mixer. I love him. A lot. And for cookies, he’s just fab.

So after you’re done admiring your mixer of choice, whether that be your hands, your hand mixer, or your Kitchen Aid mixer, preheat your oven to 375° and position the racks in the lower and upper third of your oven.

Then, in a separate bowl from your mixer bowl, put in 1 and 1/4 cup of flour….

3/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa…

And then 1 and 1/4 teaspoons of salt and 3/4 teaspoons of baking soda, and whisk it all together.

Then in your mixer bowl, put in 2 sticks of butter (1 cup), 1 cup of packed brown sugar, and 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and put that sucker on high. (Or mix it by hand until they are all totally completely combined.)

Then, add in each of the 2 eggs one at a time. Which means crack an egg in, mix it, and then do the other.

Then mix in 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla. I truly believe that vanilla is what makes chocolate chip cookies taste so delicious.

Then, add in that flour mixture I bet you had almost forgotten about! Just add it in while you’re mixing slowly.

Then, take the mixer out, and hand mix in the chocolate chips! The recipe calls for 12 ounces, but I honestly didn’t use that much! I just used enough that there was a generous smattering in the dough.

Then, onto your baking sheets…plop tablespoons onto the baking sheets about 2 inches apart.

Once you’ve filled your baking sheets, bake them for about 8-9 minutes. Basically, until they’ve flattened out and they look so delicious you can’t take it one more second and have to pull them out of the oven.

I said it at the beginning, and yup, I’ll say it again.

Seriously, y’all.

Seriously.

Enjoy!

Here’s the original recipe, from 100 Recipes Every Woman Should Know, the only change I made was to use white Whole Wheat flour and dark chocolate chips. Hope you like them!


Win Friends and Influence People Cookies
(Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 2 sticks of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • One 12-ounce package of semisweet or bittersweet or dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Position the racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.
  3. In a large bowl, with a mixer on high speed, beat the butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes.
  4. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Mix in the vanilla until combined. Add the flour mixture and combine thoroughly. Stir in the chocolate chips and walnuts (if using).
  5. Drop rounded tablespoons of the mixture onto ungreased bkng sheats about 2 inches apart. Bake for about 8 minutes, until puffy and the bottoms are golden brown. Let cool on baking sheets about 2 minutes, then transfer them to wire racks to cool completely.

Enjoy vigorously!

Leave a Reply

